Recent News

  • In the Press
Stanford doctoral candidate Blake Francis hopes to create a framework that governments could use to evaluate their climate change policies and consider when it’s morally justified for them to emit greenhouse gases.


  • In the Press



Debra Satz, a professor of philosophy, senior associate dean for the humanities and arts, and chair of the 2016-17 Faculty Senate, has long been a…

  • In Memoriam

R. Lanier Anderson

Solomon Feferman

Professor of Mathematics and Philosophy, Em.
Patrick Suppes Professor of Humanities and Sciences, Em.

With great sadness, the Philosophy Department notes the passing…

  • Awards
Stanford seniors’ thesis projects garner university medals

The projects conducted by the winners of the 2016 Firestone and Golden medals and the Kennedy Prize represent the breadth of the undergraduate experience at Stanford. They…

  • In the Press

Earlier this month, Professor Michael Bratman gave the Samuel von Pufendorf Lectures at Lund University in Sweden.  


The series The Rational Dynamics of Planning Agency can be found below: 

        June 7     "Plan…

  • Awards

Philosophy Talk, a radio show hosted by Stanford philosophy professors KEN TAYLOR  and JOHN PERRY, recently took home a Bronze Award at the New York Festivals International Program Awards in the category of Social Issues.

The specific…

  • Awards


Duarte and Lennertz Win the
2016 Routledge, Taylor & Francis Prize


NEWARK, Del. — June 15, 2016 — The American Philosophical Association is pleased to announce that Dr. Shane Duarte (University of Notre Dame as of…

  • In the Press

The North American Nietzsche Society announces its inaugural international conference to be held in New York City, October 15-16, 2016.

Keynote speakers:

       Beatrix Himmelmann, The Arctic University of Norway


  • Awards

by Tanu Wakefield on December 11, 2015 4:00 am

MICHAEL FRIEDMAN, a professor of philosophy at Stanford, has won the Fernando Gil International Prize in Philosophy of Science for his latest work on 18th-century German philosopher Immanuel…

  • In the Press


At Stanford, the Philosophy Department is a place where great ideas are changing the world.

The university’s philosophy program teaches people how to ask and answer difficult questions, how to…

  • Awards
The philosophy department congratulates Stanford alum and University of San Francisco Professor Manuel Vargas for winning the 2015 APA Book Prize.  

Manuel Vargas, Building Better Beings: A Theory of Moral Responsibility (Oxford University Press…

  • In the Press

From the Stanford Report



The Humanities at Stanford

Research by philosophy Professor Michael Friedman reveals how a lesser-known Kantian text serves as…

  • Addresses
Professor of Logic and Henry Waldgrave Stuart Professor of Philosophy Johan van Benthem gives the plenary lecture "Logic in Play" for the joint opening session of the 15th Congress on Logic, Methodology, and Philosophy of Science and Logic…
  • Books & Publications

from the Stanford Report, July 31, 2015

The Stanford scholars who founded the groundbreaking online encyclopedia say that the project owes its success to the unique way it organizes its community of…

  • Awards

The Department of Philosophy would like to congratulate the following students:

Salil Dudani (Philosophy BA and Public Policy BA) Su Lin Yeo (Philosophy BA and Economics MIN), and Katherine Dannenmaier (Economics BA, Math & Comp Science…
  • Appointments

The Department of Philosophy is excited to announce an addition to our faculty.  Rachael Briggs will be joining us as Professor of Philosophy, beginning autumn 2015.  She joins us from the Australian National University, and holds specializations…

  • Appointments
The Department of Philosophy congratulates Johan!

Henry Waldgrave Stuart Professor of Philosophy, Johan van Benthem, has been elected as a new member to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.  The American Academy is one of the world's most…

  • In the Press


Holding its Feb. 5 meeting at the Anderson Collection at Stanford University, the Faculty Senate gave members the opportunity to visit the newest addition to the university's growing arts district and to take guided…

  • Awards
2014 Quinn Prize Winner: Michael Bratman Posted by: Erin Shepherd on Dec 3 2014, at APA online

The APA is pleased to announce that Professor Michael Bratman (Stanford University) is the 2014 winner of the Philip L. Quinn prize. Bratman…

  • In Memoriam
Patrick Suppes, Pioneer in Computerized Learning, Dies at 92

By JOHN MARKOFF, appeared in the New York Times, DEC. 2, 2014


Almost a decade before the invention of the personal…