Debra Satz Appointed as Bass University Fellows in Undergraduate Education

Debra Satz

Provost John Etchemendy announced at Thursday's Faculty Senate meeting that eight faculty members had been named or reappointed Bass University Fellows.

Established in 2001, the Bass University Fellows in Undergraduate Education Program recognizes faculty, including faculty from the graduate and professional schools, for extraordinary contributions to undergraduate education.

Each of the Bass Fellow appointments is named in honor of donors who made significant gifts to the Stanford Endowment for Undergraduate Education during The Campaign for Undergraduate Education, which ended in 2005.

The program was named in honor of Anne T., MLA '07, and Robert M. Bass, MBA '74, who provided matching funds to launch it. Once a faculty member rotates out of an individual fellow appointment, he or she becomes a Bass University Fellow in Undergraduate Education in perpetuity.

Debra Satz was named the J. Frederick and Elisabeth Brewer Weintz University Fellow in Undergraduate Education.