Skip to content Skip to navigation

Recent News

Michael Bratman
Dec 3 2014 | Posted In: Awards, In the Press, Faculty
2014 Quinn Prize Winner: Michael Bratman Posted by: Erin Shepherd on Dec 3 2014, at APA online The APA is pleased to announce that Professor Michael Bratman (Stanford University) is the 2014 winner of the Philip L. Quinn prize. Bratman completed a term as chair of the board of officers...
Nov 24 2014 | Posted In: In Memoriam, Faculty
Stanford’s Patrick Suppes, pioneering philosopher, scientist, and Silicon Valley entrepreneur, dead at 92 “It is my conviction that an important function of contemporary philosophy is to understand and to formulate as a coherent world view the highly schematic character of modern science and...
Nov 10 2014 | Posted In: Books & Publications, Alumni
 PhD Alum Susan Levin, Professor of Philosophy at Smith College, writes to us about her new book:
Nov 5 2014 | Posted In: Awards, Faculty
Helen Longino was awarded the degree Doctor honoris causa at the 134th Founding Day Anniversary of the Free University of Amsterdam on October 20, 2014.
Oct 23 2014 | Posted In: In Memoriam
With great sadness, the Philosophy Department notes the passing of our longtime colleague, David Shepherd Nivison, the Walter Y. Evans-Wentz Professor (emeritus), who died in his Los Altos home on October 16, 2014. He was 91 years old.


Subscribe to