Skip to content Skip to navigation

Hume Society

The Hume Society is the association of Stanford graduate students in the Department of Philosophy. It is primarily responsible for liaising between the graduate student body and the other members of the Department and coordinating among the graduate students themselves.


Additionally, the Hume Society provides professional development opportunities and support from graduate students for other graduate students, and coordinates the visit week for newly admitted students. Each year, officers of the Hume Society organize a number of events including the Department's graduate student workshop, the Berkeley/Stanford/Davis graduate student conference, and a number of other social gatherings. The capstone event is an annual lecture series wherein the invited speaker is chosen by the graduate students.


The 2018-2019 Officers:

Hume Society Co-Presidents:
        John Wilcox
        Luke Pistol

BSD Grad Conference Coordinator:  
        Taylor Madigan

Fun Coordinator:
        Austen McDougal

GSW Coordinator:
        Imran Thobani

Faculty-Student Representatives:
        Ben Sparkes
        Olga Lenczewska

Professional Development Officers:
        Adam Zweber
        Landon Hobbs

Stanford MAP Chapter Representatives:
        Patrick Hughes
        Prach Panchakunathorn

Incoming Year Liaison:
        Lara Spencer


Past Officers and Events:

The 2017-2018 Officers:
Presidents:  Thomas and Ben 
BSD coordinators: Michael F and Taylor M
Faculty-Student Representatives: Dave and Austen
Professional Development coordinators: Michael C and Landon
Fun coordinator: Olga
GSW coordinators: Adam Z and Declan
MAP representative: Hannah and Nathan

The 2016-2017 Officers:

  • Co-Presidents: Hannah Kim and Michael Cohen
  • Faculty Reps: Chris Lewis and Roy Lee
  • Professional Development Officers: Francesca Zaffora Blando and Silvia DeToffoli
  • MAP Coordinator: JJ Lang
  • GSW Coordinator: Dave Gottlieb
  • BSD Coordinator: Yafeng Wang
  • Fun Coordinator: Chris Mierzewski
  • Admit Coordinators: Hyoung Kim and Landon Hobbs


2016-2017 Hume Society speaker:

Sharon Street, NYU

21 April 2017

90-92Q | 3:15pm


2015-2016 Hume Society speaker:

Peter Godfrey-Smith, CUNY

29 April 2016

90-92Q | 3:15pm

2014-2015 Hume Society speaker:

Michael Thompson, Pittsburgh

17 April 2015

90-92Q | 3:15pm

2013-2014 Hume Society speaker:

John McDowell