Shane Duarte wins 2016 Routledge, Taylor & Francis Prize


Duarte and Lennertz Win the
2016 Routledge, Taylor & Francis Prize


NEWARK, Del. — June 15, 2016 — The American Philosophical Association is pleased to announce that Dr. Shane Duarte (University of Notre Dame as of 08/2017) and Dr. Benjamin Lennertz (Colgate University) have been awarded the 2016 Routledge, Taylor & Francis Prize for their articles, "Leibniz and Prime Matter" and "Quantificational Credences," respectively.

The Routledge, Taylor & Francis Prize, which includes a $1,000 monetary award for each winner, is awarded annually, recognizing the two best articles published by adjunct professors.

Duarte received his Ph.D. in 2004 from the University of Pennsylvania. He was a lecturer at the University of Missouri-Columbia from 2004 to 2008 and then joined the philosophy department at Stanford University in 2008. Duarte will soon be joining the philosophy department at the University of Notre Dame. His area of specialization is early modern philosophy, especially metaphysics, epistemology, and natural philosophy. Duarte's current work on Leibniz is focused on his conception of the corporeal, and on the relation that exists, on his view, between monads and bodies.

As an undergraduate at Vassar College, Lennertz studied both philosophy and mathematics. He spent two terms at Worcester College at the University of Oxford as an undergraduate, and before starting graduate studies, he taught English at Chiang Mai University in Thailand. Lennertz received his Ph.D. in philosophy in 2014 from the University of Southern California. He has been a visiting assistant professor at Davidson College and at Colgate University and will start a new assignment at Western Kentucky University this fall. His areas of specialization are philosophy of language, philosophy of mind, and epistemology (especially their intersection).

About the APA

Founded in 1900, the American Philosophical Association promotes the discipline and profession of philosophy, both within the academy and in the public arena. The APA supports the professional development of philosophers at all levels and works to foster greater understanding and appreciation of the value of philosophical inquiry.


Amy Ferrer
Executive Director